Mother, Daughter and Mr. Bear!

She wore her lipstick maroon and powdered up her face. She lined her eyes, curled her hair and blushed her cheekbones red. I stood behind with Mr. Bear looking intently at her, then took my little make-up kit and began to copy her.

There came no color and there came no shimmer, there came nothing onto my skin. I tried and tried and tried and tried but I still did look the same. I asked my mommy to lend me hers but she politely declined. She said, “One day when you are older you can have all of this that’s mine.” I wished the clock to tick a little faster so that I may grow up sooner. I wished that day to come, when I could dress up just like her.

Minutes turned to hours and days while the seasons, they continued to change; I waited for the hour to come when I would be as big as mommy one day.

******

She wore her lipstick peachy cream and powdered up her face. She lined her eyes, straightened her hair and blushed her cheekbones baby pink. In a golden gown she stood, staring at the mirror, proms and parties were never her thing, if only she knew this sooner.

Her mommy stood behind her, looking intently through the mirror. She reminded her of the days gone by when she wished to grow up sooner. “You loved to dress and tie your hair and wear your lipstick pink. You loved the shimmer and you loved the mirror and you loved anything that’d glitter.” She turned around and said, “Mother! How quickly time had passed, I wish I have a chance one day to go back into the past.”

If ever such a day may come, she knew exactly what to do. She would wish and pray for the clock to stay at a time when Mr. Bear was cool.

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt on The Daily Post. 

<a href=”http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pace-oddity/”>Pace Oddity</a>

One thought on “Mother, Daughter and Mr. Bear!

Leave a Reply

